Onfido Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Onfido Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO  Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "fast growing so if you don't like that you may be better suited to a larger company which is more steady(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast growth and lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers love the product. Opportunities for progression. Supportive and collegiate environment Transparent decision making at the top-level Good company benefits Good bonuses if you hit targets

    Cons

    Need to have better communication between sales and account management teams as sometimes they create a whole lot of work/promises we can't deliver on. Existing structures are under pressure from the very strong growth company is going under

    Advice to Management

    Overall, just keep doing what you're doing but make sure that your internal processes are able to handle the increased volume of work

    Onfido2019-06-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A very special startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Onfido is a very special startup: - we are trying to solve a foundational problem in the online world - we are doing it with a great approach and tons of enthusiasm - we are an incredibly diverse and talented team.

    Cons

    Being the problem to solve very challenging and the team, on average, young, Onfido's journey is not always smooth. But which true adventure is always smooth?

    Onfido2019-06-01

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the kind feedback! It's definitely a rollercoaster journey :)

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Onfido really cares about employee experience and talent retention. To achieve that they offer very flexible working hours / working from home policy, learning and development opportunities. Your path to progress within the company is also very clear. Most importantly, the people are work with are great. I've not worked in any other company where I didn't encounter any communication issues / personality clashes etc....

    Show More

    Cons

    As the company's growing rapidly, the office is getting crowded. There's plenty of company events that sometimes take up a chunk of your time. I believe those problems will be eventually resolved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Onfido2019-05-28

    Onfido Response

    May 30, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the positive feedback! Feels great knowing that we're giving you an enjoyable career experience. We'll keep expanding the office space as we grow too :)

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you join the company, everyone tries everything they can to support you. There is a positive vibe and sense that this company is going place, with a lot of support to help you learn and do the best you can.

    Cons

    The US team grew too fast last year with some clearly bad hiring choices. Concerns were raised about the low performers early on but only recently has been corrected. It's taken longer than it should have to correct. Similar issue in the Singapore office.

    Advice to Management

    Hold to the same standards when hiring in global offices.

    Onfido2019-06-02

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! Appreciate your feedback about us taking longer than we should have taken to correct for bad hiring choices. It's sometimes hard to have these conversations and we do our very best to give people a chance to improve. But you're right that in this case we gave ...

    Show More
  5. "Energetic, exciting - it was a brilliant career decision for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Every day is exciting, and you get to bounce off some of the smartest people I've ever worked with. I've learned more here than in any previous role. There's huge amounts of goodwill and energy to make this a good place to work.

    Cons

    It's fast, and you definitely get days where you feel tired. We all know what the end goals are, but you need to figure out the way to get your area there, and make it happen - this is inspiring some days, and feels like a mountain to climb other days, so you have to be sure you're the kind of person that would thrive like this.

    Onfido2019-06-05

    Onfido Response

    June 13, 2019Cofounder & COO

    I'm so glad to hear that. We're working hard to do exactly what you say--ensuring you learn more here than in any other role. And yes--life at Onfido is not for the faint-hearted!

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Meritocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    I don't normally write reviews but saw the spate of negative reviews from recently fired salespeople in the San Francisco office and although I don't like speaking about individuals I felt I had to speak up I've worked in a few sales orgs and Onfido is pretty routine . The top performers make a lot of money and the bottom performers are asked to leave I think Onfido's mistake was hiring too many junior salesfolk who...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary at a sales org. There's a grind but if you work hard you make a lot of money. If you're lazy you don't. For US team, communicating can be hard with HQ in England but the management are working on this. San Francisco feels the pain more than NYC due to time difference.

    Advice to Management

    Good work on clearing out the bad eggs but you need to get the hiring right the second time around.

    Onfido2019-05-22

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I really appreciate you taking the time to offer a candid and sobering review like this. It was a shame we had to let go of a few people in the US team, but we have a good strategy to move forward and we're confident we're in a stronger place now.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Privilege to work with smart people in such a fast-growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The talent - Meritocracy - Ambitious goals - Flexible working - Supportive culture

    Cons

    Company is evolving at speed, be prepared to evolve with it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay close to employees

    Onfido2019-05-25

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good culture, nice London office and plenty of room for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Probably one of the fastest growing fintechs in London, so you get all the associated benefits: - Good company perks (team socials, budget for gym, house cleaning etc.) - They hire the best (especially in engineering) so you get to work with smart people - Great opportunities for progression - Strong senior leadership who are hands-off when they need to be - Get to work on a really interesting product and with latest...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pace of change within the company can be a bit overwhelming at first - USA / UK teams seem to have different cultures and there's not enough emphasis on bridging the gap between the two

    Advice to Management

    Don't neglect culture as the company scales and retain a high bar for hiring in US

    Onfido2019-05-24

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Maintaining a strong and consistent culture across the European/US offices has definitely been a key challenge for us over the past few years, and remains one of our biggest challenges to solve as a company. I've spent a ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Genuinely world-class product, very supportive culture and plenty of room for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Onfido for a little over a year during a period when they were growing rapidly and making a lot of improvements to their product. Great experience due to the following: - Identity is a big opportunity, as well as a tough problem. As a result work is intellectually challenging but rewarding when you start to get things right - Feels like the company really cares about well-being and career development. They've...

    Show More

    Cons

    Most things you'd expect if you were working at a high-growth company: - They're hiring a lot but some areas are still a bit under-staffed, so you sometimes need to figure things out on your own - Takes a while to get new employees up to speed, which can create a burden on some teams - A lot of changes around processes which can feel disruptive

    Advice to Management

    - Continue to invest in hiring the best - Don't put experience over potential when hiring/promoting - Continue to be extremely transparent about changes within the company

    Onfido2019-05-22

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the detailed review, and some very helpful feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, amazing tech team, most recent tech stacks, diverse, career progress

    Cons

    not that I can think of for now

    Advice to Management

    Carry on coming up with inspiring ideas and be the leader in the industry

    Onfido2019-05-14

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the positive review! Especially glad to hear you're a fan our of career progression work.

Found 102 reviews