Iress Reviews

Updated 5 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Iress CEO Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
193 Ratings
Pros
  • "The desire to deliver excellent customer experiences coupled with a positive, supportive working environment makes for a great combination(in 29 reviews)

  • "Strong community culture, flexible working patterns and dedicated professional teams(in 22 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Relationship Officer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment Ability to build skillset Sharing of knowledge Opportunity to be part of a new service offering Flexible working A company that considers working families

    Cons

    Nothing yet within the first 7 weeks

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    September 21, 2020CEO

    Welcome to Iress! Great to see you’ve had a positive first few weeks.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good company and culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior Management has a clear view for future

    Cons

    Legacy product will take time to refine

    Iress Response

    March 20, 2021CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.....and the contribution you are making at Iress.


  3. "No financial growth possible/ very grim outlook"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment Good culture Freedom to build stuff

    Cons

    No hikes and promotions No intentions of retaining existing employees Never talk about promotions or hikes, it's not a part of company's culture. You enter at a salary and remain at the same for almost the rest of your stay at the company

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A good place for graduates and those who likes working on everything."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people Modern tech stack Approachable CEO

    Cons

    Don't go by job profile description during the interview. The culture in Iress is to have everyone do everything, so if you are passionate about something you might only get to spend 30% on it when working in a team. You are hired as a ( Tester, Frontend Engineer, Backend Engineer, DevOps Engineer, BA and Scrum Master) Frontend development culture isn't great. There is no much focus around it in Sydney office. Doesn't really understand UI/UX concept. Company is clueless about accessibility. Lacks specialised roles and doesn't promote one either. Hired for "Senior Frontend Engineer" role, assigned "Engineer" role and let work on everything. Good for those who wants to be a "Bit of this and a bit of that" engineer (Technology agnostic, since you will get your hands dirty on everything). Sounds exciting? Iress is for you, go for it otherwise I wouldn't recommend. No career growth, you can switch profiles, but roles are very minimal. Salary package is quite low compared to other companies.

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    March 20, 2021CEO

    We encourage and challenge all our people to make a positive contribution. While everyone is focused on their individual role, they are also empowered to make an impact where it is most valuable for Iress, their colleagues and our clients and users. Our teams are focussed on outcomes. Thanks for your feedback.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment, limited career progression"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great non-salary remuneration including heavily discounted private health insurance, discounted share purchase options, free Friday drinks and 50c cokes from the vending machine. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Feels like a bit of a one way street regarding career progression. Plenty of opportunity to move from middle to senior roles as a developer but roles appropriate for juniors never come up. No wage increase (not even CPI) for 3 years, and this is likely to persist for the foreseeable future.

    Continue reading

    Iress Response

    March 31, 2021CEO

    Thanks for your comments. I'd love to chat directly on this when you can - will you please contact me on Slack so we can setup a time?

  6. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time

    Pros

    - Friendly colleagues - Great office location - Company offers a great amount of support and does not put too much pressure on you

    Cons

    - Steep learning curve - A lot of pressure (standard in any customer support role)

    Iress Response

    March 20, 2021CEO

    Thanks for posting this review.

  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthy culture, accessible leadership and client focus

    Cons

    Ongoing change as company tries to always improve

    Iress Response

    March 20, 2021CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. It’s great to see you love working at Iress!

  8. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sydney

    I have been working at Iress full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility with hours of work and good culture amongst employees.

    Cons

    Prefer not to disclosure cons.

    Iress Response

    March 31, 2021CEO

    Thanks for your feedback - it’s good to hear you’re enjoying the way we work and the collaboration with colleagues.

  9. "Recommend"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Iress full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture and people

    Cons

    Lack human resources in some essential team

    Iress Response

    March 31, 2021CEO

    Thanks. I’d like to understand more about your comments. Please contact me if you’re happy to discuss in further detail.

  10. "Opportunities to lead transformative changes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to work with humble thought leaders and passionate engineers; great graduate programs

    Cons

    Not enough focus in people growth. Low compensation makes it hard to retain high performers.

    Iress Response

    March 20, 2021CEO

    Transformative, thought leaders and passionate are all great aspects of IRESS that I also use. In terms of personal growth and pay, we provide the support, opportunities and all-round package of salary/benefits that rewards people for their contribution.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 306 Reviews

Popular Careers with Iress Job Seekers

Software Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Iress? Share Your Experiences

Iress logo
or