American Express Reviews

Updated 30 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
954 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees, great pay, great benefits and great company values that they uphold.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any cons about the company.

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-02-24
  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company cares for its employees. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Slow decision making and bureaucratic which is common for a large corporate.

    American Express2020-05-30
  3. "American Express International"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Very promising job Excellent Management Rewarding job when it comes to salary and comission

    Cons

    Cant say any negative for this company

    American Express2020-04-16
  4. "None"

    4.0
    Current Employee - AML Analyst in Sydney

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Great parental benefits and flexibility

    Cons

    Low salary challenging to progress

    American Express2020-04-16
  5. "No job security"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, people, great support

    Cons

    Considers staff: number not worker

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-03-27
  6. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Marketing led company, really look after their staff and you get to work with some of the best people

    Cons

    It can be hard to progress in seniority

    American Express2020-03-02
  7. "Centurion and Platinum Travel Australia"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good Pay - Nice Perks - Initial Training done well - Good interaction with reps of the products used

    Cons

    - Team Leaders do not take your feedback (very my way or the highway) - If you speak about a problem, threats to dob you into HR - Head Management very petty, didn't show up to my leaving (5min goodbye speech), but went to another employees one held the same day/same role - Long Hours if held back

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-02-25
  8. "Customer Service Contact Centre"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Place to Work, Great Culture Great Team

    Cons

    Exciting and Challenging work experience

    American Express2020-01-14
  9. "Amex"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at American Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good customers and good money

    Cons

    No manager present and very rarely checked in

    American Express2020-01-08
  10. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Alliances in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance Benefits Talented and professional employees Great mix of tenured vs new employees Great care for employee

    Cons

    Slow decision making Not many opportunities to move within the organization

    American Express2019-12-19
Found 7214 reviews