American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

American Express Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6864 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
632 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (128)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Culture, Progress, Location, Balance

    Cons

    Salary, Work Load, Visibility, Expousure

    American Express2019-08-19
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Analyst 

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    Low base but high incentive

    American Express2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It was fun, but you will feel cornered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has is very good at hiring people (customer care professionals). You will find great friends in this organisation. Additionally, the infrastructure in place is good, as well as little benefits like health care, free food is common. Management in general will treat you well.

    Cons

    The biggest downside is that if you do TOO WELL as a Customer Care Professional, you will not be promoted to other roles in the organisation. Your metrics are your leader's metrics as well and as such they do not have any incentive to lead you to other roles - its sad. Its very common to see people with not so great results get promoted, because their manager does not want them. However this is isolated to the... Customer Care Professional role and teams only. Other teams I have been in are normal (I didn't have the best statistics and I was promoted).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The customer care professional management culture needs to change. If a CCP has a great stat they deserve to be promoted and have other opportunities. Not be locked down. So many great talent have been lost because of this.

    American Express2019-08-03
  5. "Payments Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Payments Consulting in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits & work life balance

    Cons

    Poor culture & limited opportunity at director level

    American Express2019-07-09
  6. "excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Agent in Melbourne
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The corporate advantages of a large parent company

    Cons

    Amex is a well known brand - target for anti american activities

    American Express2019-07-08
  7. "Thi iii iii oop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Work from home

    Cons

    Very hard to get career progression Low pay for certain roles Pay is not market value

    American Express2019-07-02
  8. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company culture. Average employee tenure 5+ years Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Quite political as everywhere I guess

    American Express2019-06-11
  9. "Work Place and Compensation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Vice President Business Development in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Extremely professional financial services multinational

    Cons

    Extended hours of work at senior levels

    American Express2019-06-10
  10. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the company offers great benefits and rewards and recognition the people there are like family

    Cons

    redundancies- due to changes in market

    American Express2019-05-07
Found 6864 reviews