J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1352 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
556 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 109 reviews)

  • "It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week(in 86 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 166 reviews)

  • "Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates(in 166 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Struggling to find any pros for this place

    Cons

    Backstabbing environment, based on favourism

    Advice to Management

    Find something better to do with your lives

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Self esteem crushing, life ruining, and overall frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cross Trained Bar and Kitchen Associate in St Helens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee bonus scheme Flexible shift patterns Good opportunities for career progression if you have the personality of a robot

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours - I and others routinely would go from working 48 hour weeks to 16 hour weeks with no warning of hours being cut Constantly understaffed - the managers were given unrealistic budgets with as many cuts as possible to maximize profit regardless of the expense to its employees Overworked, unhappy employees - Never worked with one single employee who was happy working for this... company Incompetent managers - Most of them are complete idiots with no idea when it comes to leadership and organization. More training required. Unfortunately these problems are across the board as I have worked in several pubs for this company, both front of house and back of house, all with the same issues

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to what your associate staff have to say instead of ignoring constant mistreatment of employees by pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon2013-08-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses. Friendly staff, understanding management

    Cons

    Hard work, very busy and very repetitive

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-11
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week. You can apply for shares with the company after you’ve been with them for 18 months (free money) you can apply for a flexible rota after you have been with the company 26 weeks and they will try there best to help. Free meals and soft drink on your breaks. 50% discount when you work for your meals and soft drinks and 20% on meals and alcohol when your off. ... Great opportunity to process in the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons for me.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekend nights are a lot of fun to work. Great coworkers. Head office generally listens to you; they revised the tipping policy because of employees being unhappy about it. Nice regulars. Very decent pay for my age group. There's always a good atmosphere in the pubs; lively and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Can get pretty rowdy and there's often drama. I had to quit as the managers just would not let me book days off. They always "forgot" despite me taking the proper procedures. Working floor can actually be pretty stressful.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-05
  6. "Friend and fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - It is a well recognised brand with a competitive wage system - fast paced and exciting - experience in customer service - friednly staff and mangers

    Cons

    - the customers having set opinions on the company that don't echo how it truly operates

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off food and drink on shift 20% off food and drink off shift Easy training and good management structure

    Cons

    Long hours No weekends to yourself Drunk customers can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive to keep staff engaged and happy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-01
  8. "Has its moments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Shawlands, Scotland

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits r getting better n wen working with good team, it's a great place to work

    Cons

    No social life, expectation to do extra hours without properly compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  9. "wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team and good hours

    Cons

    poor pay and rota management

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-29
  10. "Never enough time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own rota, albeit having to work late shifts, some good perks. Build your own team.

    Cons

    Very late nights, constantly relying upon staff that don’t care. Forever recruiting to replace staff u willing to work and who call in sick continually. No time to manage absenteeism due to absenteeism.

    Advice to Management

    Non pub based management need to follow the same rules that is enforced on pub staff but don’t. Area & general managers are so far detached from what modern pub working is like but don’t want to hear what it’s like on the coal face.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-28
Found 1352 reviews