Combined Insurance Reviews

Updated 2 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Joe Vasquez
Joe Vasquez
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 33 reviews)

  • "This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours to start(first 6 months to 1 year)(in 42 reviews)

  • "They expect you to go door to door six days a week(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Combined Insurance Australia and management team was really an employer of choice, extremely supportive management team.

    Cons

    It took around 6 months to feel really comfortable, however it does take time to develop specific skills required for this role.

    Combined Insurance2016-07-08

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 13, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you for reviewing our company. It is our goal to make sure our teams are supported with excellent managers, and we are so happy to hear that your management team was "extremely supportive." We wish you all the best !

  2. "Sales Representative"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Hervey Bay

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    paid training, will take entry level, solid sales processes as you need them for the job

    Cons

    comission only, few leads, luxury product

    Combined Insurance2015-07-01
  3. "The Best Insurance Company To Work At"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Rapid City, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training program for this company is phenomenal and far beyond that of their competitors like AFLAC where they give you a book and say good luck. Before you hit the field on your own you go to Sales School which is where you learn the skills you need to become a successful salesman. After you complete Sales School you go out in the field with your District Manager and they will provide you with your initial on-the-job-training which continues to refine your salesmanship. Over the next 6 months your District Manager will meet with you one-on-one on a weekly basis and check in with you frequently to assist with any issues or to provide guidance. If you are lucky enough to work out of the Rapid City area you will have the pleasure of working for Dean Mueller who is a phenomenal leader and mentor. Combined Insurance employees you as a W-2 employee as opposed to contracting you as a 1099 business. You are regularly provided with leads from the company which is great. You can work residential, ranches, and businesses in the field or now at home. This gives you to access to their health and supplemental insurances along with 401K. The first 6 months you work for them you get a base salary and earn commissions on top of that. The earned commission percentage increases at 3 months and again at 6 months where your base salary discontinues. Monthly bonuses are very achievable as are their quarterly and annual trips. The culture at Combined Insurance is fantastic too. They expect you to be successful both professionally and personally. I am very fortunate to be a member of the Combined Family.

    Cons

    Like any sales job, you get out of it what you put into it. You are provided with all of the tools you need to succeed but this job is not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-05-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, but it’s days are numbered"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    The founder of the company created a masterful sales pitch which the company wants every agent to follow. His technique worked very well for him, but he last worked in the 1960s. The technique is hitting the pavement as hard as you can every day and delivering a very specific set of sales pitches. Back in the 70s, the founder stepped away from the company and allowed his son to run it. His son did not do as well leading the company, so the founder came back and promptly sold the company to the founder of Aon. Currently, Combined is a subsidiary of Chubb.

    Cons

    Extremely high employee turnover rate of about 95%. Pay is low. For sales agents, the only way to be successful is to hit the pavement all day, every day. The sales structure has a lot of fat, and by that I mean there are local managers who are in it only for themselves. Pay is low. In some parts of the country one could get by. The leads are terrible and waste of our time.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-04-13
  5. "Don't do it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were literally none management is aweful

    Cons

    Door to door sales Glorified MLM Have to guilt people into buying it

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-04-11
  6. "good people within my region"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    unlimited earning potential for the amount of work you can put into it

    Cons

    region going down hill, and upper management rides you hard

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-03-21

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's true our agents have a virtually unlimited income potential based on the volume of their sales. We strive to make sure everyone feels supported, and we regret to hear that you aren't experiencing the support you need. We encourage you to reach out to your leadership to discuss how to get the support you need. We wish you all the best!

  7. "Awesome education in sales and insurance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic support to grow your business

    Cons

    Not enough diversified products for wealthier clientele

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-03-06

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you received fantastic support, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

  8. "Sales Agent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Money is good when you make a sale, Nice trips you can win

    Cons

    Discord in Charlotte and Mooresville regions. High turnover. Advanced paychecks put you at risk for having charge backs. Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required. The leads aren't a good source to new employees.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-03-10

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. Our sales agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, as well as other incentives, and they have the flexibility to manage their schedule around what is best for their customers. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor sales, decades old technology, and layoffs coming soon."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenient office locations and opportunity to start a sales career

    Cons

    Poor sales revenues due to terribly old technology and sales models; Agents Agents generally churn/burn and quit within a few weeks. Corporate staff is overwhelmed with cost cutting measures and layoffs are consistent.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-03-24

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your concerns with us. You can rest assured that our company is stable and thriving as part of Chubb, which was recently affirmed “AA” (very strong” ) by Fitch. Our sales model was built and founded on the success of our Founder, W. Clement Stone, and we know that the future is in our technology. We are in a fortunate position to continuously improve our models and innovate in order to best serve our customers. We wish you all the best in your future with us!

  10. "Sales Coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales and Marketing Coordinator in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Flexible hours but hard work if you become proficient pay becomes great

    Cons

    Some management conflicts can exist, but you are very independent as a full time employee

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2020-02-13

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! Our sales agents who follow our success formula typically find that with hard work and perseverance, they can have a lot of success earning a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. We wish you continued success and all the best in your future here with us!

Found 741 reviews